ASHR Awards

ASHR is pleased to present its Outstanding Mentor Award for the first time. ASHR also gives two student awards annually: the dissertation award and the outstanding student paper award. The student paper award is chosen from regular submissions to our conferences marked “Student.” For more information on recent recipients, please read on!

ASHR Outstanding Mentor Award: 2022 Recipient

Prof. Andre E. Johnson
University of Memphis

Prof. Andre E. Johnson, Associate Professor of Communication Studies at the University of Memphis, has been chosen as the inaugural recipient of the ASHR Outstanding Mentor Award. The selection committee praised Prof. Johnson’s record of engaged and proactive mentoring, noting how he extends his mentorship to students and colleagues even before they recognize their own need and staying with them for the long haul. The committee noted the broad and positive effects that Prof. Johnson’s mentoring has had on the study of rhetorical history, even at this relatively early stage in his career. Prof. Johnson’s mentorship has already and will continue to promote research on histories of rhetoric that have been previously neglected. Prof. Johnson himself is a catalyzing figure, attracting diverse voices to ASHR and to rhetorical studies more broadly. Agreeing with nominators who wrote, “Truly, his students, colleagues, and community are better because of his dedication and talents,” the selection committee is pleased to honor Prof. Johnson and recognize the community that he creates and sustains through his mentoring.

ASHR Dissertation Award: 2021 Recipient

Dr. Florianne “Bo” Jimenez
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

““Echoing and Resistant Imagining: Filipino Student Writing Under American Colonization”

Dr. Florianne “Bo” Jimenez has been selected as the recipient of the 2021 American Society for the History of Rhetoric Outstanding Dissertation Award, which honors a dissertation of especial significance to the Society’s mission defended in the past year. The selection committee was particularly impressed with Dr. Jimenez’s treatment of an era of US colonialism rarely discussed in the discipline of Rhetoric, as well as the nuanced integration of texts, critical theory, and methodological choices. (Several committee members noted that they found themselves so engaged that they wanted to read the entire dissertation.) The dissertation was completed under the directorship of Dr. Rebecca Lorimer Leonard, at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Dr. Jimenez is now Assistant Professor of English and Co-Director of the Writing Center at the University of Massachusetts, Boston.

ASHR Dissertation Award: 2021 Honorable Mention

Dr. Misty Yang
University of Maryland

“Code Me a Good Reason: Joseph Weizenbaum and the Rhetoric of AI”

After consultation between committees and with Dr. Kennerly in her role as ASHR President, we would also like to acknowledge Dr. Misti Yang with an Honorable Mention went for “Code Me a Good Reason: Joseph Weizenbaum and the Rhetoric of AI.” Dr. Yang is currently a Mellon Assistant Professor of the Public Communication of Science and Technology at Vanderbilt, having defended in August 2021 under the directorship of Dr. Damien Smith Pfister, in the department of Communication at the University of Maryland.

ASHR Student Paper Award: 2021 Recipient

Jennifer Woolley
Ohio University

“Complicating Culpability: Planned Parenthood’s Historical Apologia on Margaret Sanger”

Jennifer Woolley, a PhD student at Ohio University, is being recognized for “Complicating Culpability: Planned Parenthood’s Historical Apologia on Margaret Sanger.” The selection committee was particularly impressed with how her analysis of apologia in Planned Parenthood’s centennial discourse can help rhetoricians understand the obligations involved in addressing our own institutions’ problematic pasts. If you are attending NCA, you will be able to hear this paper on Thursday, November 18, on the 2-3:15pm panel in Issaquah AB (third floor).

ASHR Student Paper Award: 2021 Honorable Mention

Caroline Koons
Penn State University

“Parrhesiac Voice: Freedom Riders, Singing Dissent, and Parchman Prison”

Past Winners

Dissertation Award Recipients

  • 2020 – Ryan Mitchell, “Private Parts, Public Selves: The Co-construction of Safe Sex Before the Discovery of HIV”
  • 2019 – Rudo Robin Mudiwa, Indiana University: “The Prostitute as Citizen: Mobile Women, Urban Space, and the Threat of Disorder in Zimbabwe”
  • 2018 – Karrieann Soto Vega, University of Kentucky: “Lolita Lebrón’s Rhetorics of Defiance to U.S. Empire”
  • 2017 – Elizabeth Gardner, University of Maryland: “The Child Labor Movement’s Night Messenger Service Campaign: Rights and Reform in the Progressive Era”
  • 2016 – Allison Prasch, University of Minnesota: “Constituting the Cold War Commonplace: U.S. Presidential Public Address and the Inventional Possibilities of Speaking in Situ”
  • 2015 – Seth D. Long, University of Nebraska, Kearney
  • 2014 – Allison Hailey Hahn, University of Pittsburgh
  • 2013 – Jason Barrett-Fox, University of Kansas
  • 2012 – Timothy Barney, University of Maryland
  • 2011 – Carly Woods, University of Pittsburgh
  • 2010 – Lisa Zimmerelli, University of Maryland
  • 2009 – Kathleen Lamp, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • 2008 – L. Jill Lamberton, University of Michigan
  • 2007 – Vessela Valiavitcharska, University of Texas-Austin
  • 2006 – Paul Turpin, Annenberg School of Communication, USC
  • 2005 – Kristine S. Bruss, University of Minnesota
  • 2004 – Shevaun A. Watson, Miami University of Ohio
  • 2003 – Cynthia King, University of Maryland
  • 2002 – Daniel Emery, University of Iowa
  • 2001 – David Hoffman, University of Iowa
  • 2000 – Robert Sullivan, University of Maryland
  • 1999 – Ekaterina Haskins, University of Iowa
  • 1998 – Sara Newman, University of Minnesota
  • 1997 – Mari Lee Mifsud, Penn State University
  • 1996 – Gary Selby, University of Maryland
  • 1995 – Robert Stephen Reid, University Washington

Outstanding Student Paper Awards

  • 2020 – Natalie Bennie, Penn State University, “Enlightenment How? The Reception of Cicero and the Repetition of Judeophobia in the French Enlightenment”
  • 2019 – Marissa G. Croft, Northwestern University: “An Object Worthy of the Attention of a Sensible Republican”: Establishing the Characteristics of a Revolutionary Republican Political Style through the Costume Reform Project of the Société Populaire et Républicaine des Arts (1793-1795)
  • 2018 – Krista L. Klocke, Iowa State University: “Sacred Kairos and Secular Chronos: Angelina Grimke’s Negotiation of the Temporal and Eternal in the ‘Pennsylvania Hall Address'”
  • 2017 – Adam Cody, Pennsylvania State University: “The Porous Polis: Comedy and Commonality in Ancient Athens”
  • 2016 – Adam Cody, Pennsylvania State University: “The Political Use of the Part and the Whole in Lysias 12 Against Eratosthenes”
  • 2015 – Jessica A. Kurr, Pennsylvania State University
  • 2014 – Justine Wells, University of South Carolina
  • 2013 – Liz Miller, University of Kansas; John Jasso, University of Pittsburgh
  • 2012 – Ian Hill, University of Illinois
  • 2011 – John Minbiole, Penn State University
  • 2010 – Brandon Inabinet, Northwestern University
  • 2009 – Matthew May, University of Minnesota
  • 2007 – Benjamin Crosby, University of Washington
  • 2006 – Michelle Gibbons, University of Pittsburgh
  • David Tell, Penn State University
  • 2005 – Randall E. Iden, Northwestern University
  • 2004 – Noriaki Tajima, University of Alabama; Kristine S. Bruss, University of Minnesota
  • 2003 – Ned O’ Gorman, Penn State University
  • 2002 – Laura Card, University of Utah
  • 2001 – Beth Manolescu, University of Illinois
  • 2000 – Ekaterina Haskins, University of Iowa
  • 1999 – Mari Lee Mifsud, Penn State University