Call for Nominations: ASHR Dissertation Award

The American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) invites submissions for its 2020 Dissertation Award. 

The ASHR Dissertation Award honors an exemplary dissertation treating rhetorical history (broadly construed) that was defended between September 11, 2019, and September 10, 2020. 

To be considered for the award, please submit: 

  1. A 1-2-page dissertation abstract;
  2. The dissertation’s table of contents;
  3. One representative chapter, and; 
  4. A letter of recommendation from the dissertation advisor or a committee member that includes the defense date. Recommendation letters can be sent to the selection committee chair by either the applicant or the recommendation writer. 

Please do not send complete dissertations.

ASHR encourages a rich and pluralistic conception of the history of rhetoric. The selection committee hopes to see dissertations treating histories of rhetoric around the world, from any time period, and drawn from varied archives—formal and informal. We welcome historical work on rhetoric informed by a diversity of theoretical and methodological traditions, Submissions will be evaluated on the following criteria: 

  1. Significance of the work’s contribution to histories of rhetorical theory, practice, and/or pedagogy; 
  2. Quality of archival or primary research and contribution to historiographic practice; and 
  3. Ability of the writing to engage and inform readers. 

For this year, ASHR membership is not required for award consideration, but please do consider the benefits of joining

Please submit all materials via email (MS Word or PDF) to the selection committee chair, Prof. Christa Olson, at

The deadline for submissions is October 5, 2020.

For more on ASHR awards, including a list of past winners, click here.

Dr. Christa Olson
Associate Professor
Department of English
University of Wisconsin-Madison