ASHR Awards

Call for Nominations

American Society for the History of Rhetoric
Dissertation Award

The American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) invites submissions for the 2019 Dissertation Award. Dissertations must have been defended between September 11, 2018 and September 10, 2019 to be eligible. Required submission materials include an abstract, table of contents, one representative chapter, and a letter of recommendation from the dissertation advisor or a committee member. Do not send complete dissertations. Self-nominations are acceptable.

ASHR encourages a rich and pluralistic conception of the history of rhetoric. Submissions will be evaluated on the following criteria: significance of the work’s contribution to the history of rhetorical theory, practice, and/or pedagogy; quality of archival or primary research and contribution to historiographic practice; and quality of writing. While ASHR membership is not a prerequisite for award consideration, award winners will be asked to join ASHR at the student rate for one year.

Please submit all materials via email (MS Word or PDF) to the selection committee chair, Dr. Kathleen Lamp, at Recommendation letters can be sent to the selection committee chair by either the applicant or the recommendation writer. The deadline for submissions is September 15, 2019.

For more information about ASHR and the benefits of ASHR membership (including our journal, Advances in the History of Rhetoric), visit

Dr. Kathleen Lamp
Associate Professor, Rhetoric
Department of English
Arizona State University
PO Box 871401
Tempe AZ 85287-1401

For more on ASHR awards, including a list of past winners, click here.